The Gene: An Intimate History

The Gene: An Intimate HistorySpanning the globe and several centuries, The Gene is the story of the quest to decipher the master code that makes and defines humans, that governs our form and function n nThe story of the gene begins in an obscure Augustinian abbey in Moravia in 1856 where a monk stumbles on the idea of a unit of

Deadliest Enemy: Our War Against Killer Germs

Deadliest Enemy: Our War Against Killer GermsA leading epidemiologist shares his powerful and necessary stories from the front lines of our war on infectious diseases and explains how to prepare for global epidemics Richard Preston, author of The Hot Zone.Unlike natural disasters, whose destruction is concentrated in a limited area over a

The Ones We Choose

The Ones We ChooseLisa Genova meets 23andMe in this exploration of the genetic and emotional ties that bind, as debut author Julie Clark delivers a compelling read about a young boy desperate to find his place in this world, a mother coming to terms with her own past, and the healing power of forgiveness.The powerful

It's All Relative: Adventures Up and Down the World's Family Tree

It's All Relative: Adventures Up and Down the World's Family TreeNew York Times bestselling author of The Know It All and The Year of Living Biblically, A.J Jacobs undergoes a hilarious, heartfelt quest to understand what constitutes family where it begins and how far it goes and attempts to untangle the true meaning of the Family of Humankind A.J Jacobs has

The A List (Ali Reynolds, #14)

The A List (Ali Reynolds, #14)In the next devilish page turner People from New York Times bestselling author J.A Jance, Ali Reynolds learns that no good deed goes unpunished.More than ten years after the abrupt end of her high profile broadcasting career, Ali Reynolds has made a good life for herself in her hometown of Sedo

Hacking Darwin: Genetic Engineering and the Future of Humanity

Hacking Darwin: Genetic Engineering and the Future of HumanityPassionate, provocative, and highly illuminating, Hacking Darwin is the must read book about the future of our species for fans of Homo Deus and The Gene n nAfter 3.8 billion years humankind is about to start evolving by new rules n nFrom leading geopolitical expert and technology futurist Jamie Me

The Tangled Tree: A Radical New History of Life

The Tangled Tree: A Radical New History of LifeScience writer David Quammen explains how recent discoveries in molecular biology can change our understanding of evolution and life s history, with powerful implications for human health and even our own human nature n nIn the mid 1970s, scientists began using DNA sequences to reexamine the history

The Selfish Gene

The Selfish GeneThe Selfish Gene 30th Anniversary Edition with a new Introduction by the Author n nInheriting the mantle of revolutionary biologist from Darwin, Watson, and Crick, Richard Dawkins forced an enormous change in the way we see ourselves and the world with the publication of The Selfish Gene Suppose, in

The Gene: An Intimate History

The Gene: An Intimate HistorySpanning the globe and several centuries, The Gene is the story of the quest to decipher the master code that makes and defines humans, that governs our form and function n nThe story of the gene begins in an obscure Augustinian abbey in Moravia in 1856 where a monk stumbles on the idea of a unit of